The Former Residence of Tang Yin (Baohua Monastery), also known as the Wenchang Pavilion, is located at 13 Shuang Hehuachi. It was classified as a Suzhou heritage conservation site in 1982. Taohua An’s buildings were still partially intact in the early years of the Qing Dynasty. In the period of Emperor Shunzhi, the residence was bought by a famous doctor called Shen Mingsheng. He built a pavilion, planted bamboo and trees, dug a pond and planted lotus. The literal translation of the pavilion’s name is “The Pavilion of Lotus Mirror”. A famous Buddhist guru changed the name of the residence name to “Baohua Monastery” in the period of Emperor Qianlong. The ancient monastery still stands today. The south-facing Baohua Monastery covers an area of 511 square meters with two ways to enter. The west entrance is a water pavilion built by the pond. The other entrance is the hall, quiet and deep. A stone bridge on the east side of water pavilion leads to the entrance. The best seasons to visit are spring and autumn.
Opening hours and admission fees
Opening hours: 08:00-17:00
Admission: 5 RMB/person
Special points of interest
A water pavilion built by the pond surrounded by unique scenery. Trees and shade, birds singing, the fragrance of flowers and an elegant, calming environment.
Address, phone / contact person
Former Residence of Tang Yin, Taohuawu Da Jie Bei, Suzhou
Tel: 0512 6820 1200 (CN)
电话：0512 6820 1200